Go backBack to selection

Stream Previews of all 17 Videos from Beyoncé’s new “Visual Album”

If you want a quick crash course in music video today — its looks, styles, and assorted tropes — you could do a lot worse than spend seven minutes watching this stream from Beyoncé’s YouTube channel, which begins with the first 30 seconds of every video made for the singer’s surprise, self-titled release. (It just appeared on iTunes last night with no advance publicity.) Living up to her workaholic reputation, Beyoncé has made what look to be lavishly produced, cinematically striking and conceptually varied videos for every song on what she calls her “visual album.” A track list with directors credited is below:

Pretty Hurts (directed by Melina Matsoukas)
Ghost (directed by Pierre Debusschere)
Haunted (directed by Jonas Akerlund)
Drunk in Love (directed by Hype Williams)
Blow (directed by Hype Williams)
No Angel (Directed by @LILINTERNET)
Yoncé (Directed by Ricky Saiz)
Partition (Directed by Jake Nava)
Jealous (Directed by Beyoncé, Francesco Carrozzini, Todd Tourso)
Rocket (Directed by Ed Burke, Bill Kirstein)
Mine (feat. Drake) (Directed by Pierre Debusschere)
XO (Directed by Terry Richardson)
***Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche) (Directed by Jake Nava)
Superpower (feat. Frank Ocean) (Directed by Jonas Akerlund)
Heaven (Directed by Beyonce, Todd Tourso)
Blue (feat. Blue Ivy) (Directed by Beyoncé, Ed Burke, Bill Kirstein)
Grown Woman (Directed by Jake Nava)

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham