Go backBack to selection


in Filmmaking
on Jan 30, 2010

Announced moments ago, the Sundance Film Festival awards were given out in Park City. The dramatic Grand Jury prize went to Debra Granik‘s Winter’s Bone (pictured), which was picked up by Roadside Attractions earlier in the day. Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington‘s look at a platoon stationed in Afghanistan, Restrepo, won the Grand Jury doc prize.

Josh Radnor‘s relationship dramedy happythankyoumoreplease took the dramatic audience award, and Davis Guggenheim‘s Waiting For Superman, which was the first big acquisition of the fest, won the documentary audience award.

And winning the first ever best of the NEXT films was Todd Barnes & Brad Barnes‘s Homewrecker.

The full list of winners are below.

Read our full coverage from this year fest.

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Winter’s Bone, director by Debra Granik

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
Restrepo, co-directors Sebastian Junger & Tim Hetherington

Dramatic Audience Award:
happythankyoumoreplease, writer-director Josh Radnor

Documentary Audience Award:
Waiting for Superman, director Davis Guggenheim

Directing Award, Dramatic:
3 Backyards, writer-director Eric Mendelsohn

Directing Award, Documentary:
Smash His Camera, director by Leon Gast

The Best of NEXT:
Homewrecker, co-directors Todd Barnes & Brad Barnes

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
Animal Kingdom, writer-director David Michôd

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
The Red Chapel, director Mads Brugger

World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award:
Contracorriente (Undertow), writer-director Javier Fuentes-Leon

World Cinema Documentary Audience Award:
Wasteland, director Lucy Walker

World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic:
Southern District, writer-director Juan Carlos Valdivia

World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary:
Space Tourists, director Christian Frei

World Cinema Screenwriting Award:
Southern District, writer-director Juan Carlos Valdivia

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award:
A Film Unfinished, Joelle Alexis

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award:
Winter’s Bone, Debra Granik & Anne Rosellini.

Documentary Editing Award:
Joan Rivers—A Piece Of Work, Penelope Falk

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
Obselidia, Zak Mulligan

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary:
The Oath, Kirsten Johnson & Laura Poitras

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
The Man Next Door, Mariano Cohn & Gaston Duprat

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary:
His & Hers, Kate McCullough & Michael Lavelle

Special Jury Prize – Dramatic:
Sympathy for Delicious, director Mark Ruffalo

Special Jury Prize – Documentary:
GASLAND, director Josh Fox

A World Cinema Special Jury Prize – Documentary
Enemies of the People, co-directors Rob Lemkin & Thet Sambath

World Cinema Special Jury Prize – Breakout Performance:
Tatiana Maslany, Grown Up Movie Star

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham