Go backBack to selection


The winners of this year’s Tribeca Film Festival were announced tonight. Feo Aladag‘s When We Leave received the fest’s top honor, the Founders Award for Best Narrative. The film follows a woman and her son as they try to escape her husband’s abuse and finds shelter with a family in Berlin. Best Documentary went to Alexandra Codina‘s Monica & David, which highlights a couple living with Down syndrome.

Other winners include Dana Adam Shaprio‘s Monogamy taking home the New York Competition category and the outlandish comedy Spork won the first ever Best Feature in the Tribeca Film Festival Virtual category.

Full list of winners below.

Tribeca World Competition

The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature – When We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag (Germany)

Special Jury Mention: Loose Cannons, directed by Ferzan Ozpetek and written by Ferzan Ozpetek and Ivan Cotroneo

Best Documentary Feature – Monica & David, directed by Alexandra Codina (USA)

Special Jury Mention: Budrus directed by Julia Bacha. (USA, Palestine, Israel)

Best New Documentary Filmmaker – Clio Barnard for The Arbor (UK)

Best New Narrative Filmmaker – Kim Chapiron for Dog Pound, written by Kim Chapiron and Jeremie Delon (France)

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature Film – Eric Elmosnino for his role in Gainsbourg, Je t’Aime…Moi Non Plus, directed and written by Joann Sfar

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature Film – Sibel Kekilli for her role in When We Leave (Die Fremde), directed and written by Feo Aladag

New York Competition

Best New York Narrative – Monogamy, directed by Dana Adam Shapiro, written by Dana Adam Shapiro and Evan M. Weiner (USA)

Special Jury Mention: Melissa Leo for her performance in The Space Between, directed and written by Travis Fine

Best New York Documentary – The Woodmans, directed by C. Scott Willis (USA, Italy, China)

Short Film Competition

Best Narrative Short – Father Christmas Doesn’t Come Here, directed by Bekhi Sibiya, written by Sibongile Nkosana, Bongi Ndaba (South Africa)

Special Jury Mention: The Crush, directed and written by Michael Creagh (Ireland)

Best Documentary Short – White Lines & The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug, directed and written by Travis Senger (USA)

Special Jury Mention: Out of Infamy: Michi Nishiura Weglyn, directed and written by Nancy Kapitanoff, Sharon Yamato (USA)

Student Visionary Award – some boys don’t leave, directed by Maggie Kiley, written by Matthew Mullen, Maggie Kiley (USA)

Special Jury Mention: The Pool Party, directed and written by Sara Zandieh (Iran, USA)

Tribeca Film Festival Virtual

Best Feature Film: Spork, directed and written by J. B. Ghuman, Jr (USA)

Best Short Film: Delilah, Before, directed Melanie Schiele (Singapore)

© 2023 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham