Go backBack to selection

Cameraperson and O.J.: Made in America Top the 2017 Cinema Eye Honors


The Cinema Eye Honors, which has been celebrating exceptional documentary filmmaking since 2007, wrapped its first decade tonight with its annual awards ceremony, hosted by documentary director Steve James, at the Museum of the Moving Image. Kirsten Johnson’s memoiristic meditation on documentary image-making, Cameraperson was the big winner, taking home three awards, including Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Filmmaking, Outstanding Achievement in Editing and Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography, while Ezra Edelman’s sprawling O.J.: Made in America won two: Outstanding Achievement in Directing and Outstanding Achievement in Production. Other winners included Laura Ricciardi and Moira Demos’s Netflix series Making a Murderer (Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Films Made for Television) and, for Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Film, Hooligan Sparrow‘s Nanfu Wang.

Tonight’s awards capped off several days of parties, events for the nominated filmmakers and, yesterday, the Cinema Eye Honors Lunch, at which the Legacy Award was given to Rob Epstein’s The Times of Harvey Milk. The Heterodox Award, for fiction films employing documentary strategies, was given to Michal Marczak’s All These Sleepless Nights.

The complete list of winners follows:

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking
Directed by Kirsten Johnson
Produced by Marilyn Ness

Outstanding Achievement in Direction
Ezra Edelman
OJ: Made in America

Outstanding Achievement in Editing
Nels Bangerter

Outstanding Achievement in Production
Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow
OJ: Made in America

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography
Kirsten Johnson

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score
David Byrne, LeeAnn Rossi and Aaron Rosenblum
Contemporary Color

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation
Keith Maitland and Craig Staggs

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film
Hooligan Sparrow
Directed by Nanfu Wang

Audience Choice Prize
Directed by Clay Tweel

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Films Made for Television
Making a Murderer
Directed and Produced by Laura Ricciardi and Moira Demos
For Netflix: Adam Del Deo and Lisa Nishimura

Spotlight Award
Those Who Jump
Directed by Moritz Siebert and Estephan Wagner

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking
La Laguna
Directed by Aaron Schock

Heterodox Award
All These Sleepless Nights
Directed by Michal Marczak

Legacy Award
The Times of Harvey Milk
Directed by Rob Epstein

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham