Go backBack to selection

The Favourite, First Reformed Top the 2018 IFP Gotham Award Nominations

Ethan Hawke and Amanda Seyfried in First Reformed (photo courtesy of A24)

IFP, Filmmaker‘s parent organization, announced the nominations for its 2018 IFP Gotham Awards this morning. The two top films, receiving three nominations each, were something of a surprise: Yorgos Lanthimos’s period Fox Searchlight drama, The Favourite, and Paul Schrader’s anthropocene-set drama of faith, First Reformed. Both films compete for Best Picture and Best Screenplay. Other best picture nominees include Barry Jenkins’s If Beale St. Could Talk, Chloe Zhao’s The Rider and Josephine Decker’s Madeline’s Madeline. Best Documentary nods went to Robert Greene’s Bisbee ’17, RaMell Ross’s Hale County, This Morning, This Evening, Bing Liu’s Minding the Gap, Sandi Tan’s Shirkers and Morgan Neville’s Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

The Gotham Awards ceremony will be held on Monday, November 26th at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City. A complete list of nominees follows.

Best Feature

The Favourite
Yorgos Lanthimos, director; Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Lee Magiday, Yorgos Lanthimos, producers (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

First Reformed
Paul Schrader, director; Jack Binder, Greg Clark, Victoria Hill, Gary Hamilton, Deepak Sikka, Christine Vachon, David Hinojosa, Frank Murray, producers (A24)

If Beale Street Could Talk
Barry Jenkins, director; Adele Romanski, Sara Murphy, Barry Jenkins, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Megan Ellison, producers (Annapurna Pictures)

Madeline’s Madeline
Josephine Decker, director; Krista Parris, Elizabeth Rao, producers (Oscilloscope Laboratories)

The Rider
Chloé Zhao, director; Bert Hamelinck, Sacha Ben Harroche, Mollye Asher, Chloé Zhao, producers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Documentary

Bisbee ‘17
Robert Greene, producer; Douglas Tirola, Susan Bedusa, Bennett Elliott, producers (4th Row Films)

Hale County This Morning, This Evening
RaMell Ross, director; RaMell Ross, Joslyn Barnes, Su Kim, producers (The Cinema Guild)

Minding the Gap
Bing Liu, director; Diane Quon, Bing Liu, producers (Hulu & Magnolia Pictures)

Sandi Tan, director; Sandi Tan, Jessica Levin, Maya Rudolph, producers (Netflix)

Won’t You Be My Neighbor?
Morgan Neville, director; Morgan Neville, Caryn Capotosto, Nicholas Ma, producers (Focus Features)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Ari Aster for Hereditary (A24)
Bo Burnham for Eighth Grade (A24)
Jennifer Fox for The Tale (HBO)
Crystal Moselle for Skate Kitchen (Magnolia Pictures)
Boots Riley for Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Screenplay

The Favourite, Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
First Reformed, Paul Schrader (A24)
Private Life, Tamara Jenkins (Netflix)
Support the Girls, Andrew Bujalski (Magnolia Pictures)
Thoroughbreds, Cory Finley (Focus Features)

Best Actor

Adam Driver in BlacKkKlansman (Focus Features)
Ben Foster in Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)
Richard E. Grant in Can You Ever Forgive Me? (Fox Searchlight Pictures)
Ethan Hawke in First Reformed (A24)
Lakeith Stanfield in Sorry to Bother You (Annapurna Pictures)

Best Actress*

Glenn Close in The Wife (Sony Pictures Classics)
Toni Collette in Hereditary (A24)
Kathryn Hahn in Private Life (Netflix)
Regina Hall in Support the Girls (Magnolia Pictures)
Michelle Pfeiffer in Where is Kyra? (Paladin and Great Point Media)

*The 2018 Best Actress nominating committee also voted to award a special Gotham Jury Award to Olivia Colman, Emma Stone, and Rachel Weisz for their ensemble performance in The Favourite. (Fox Searchlight Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor

Yalitza Aparicio in Roma (Netflix)
Elsie Fisher in Eighth Grade (A24)
Helena Howard in Madeline’s Madeline (Oscilloscope Laboratories)
KiKi Layne in If Beale Street Could Talk (Annapurna Pictures)
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie in Leave No Trace (Bleecker Street)

Breakthrough Series – Long Form

Alias Grace, Sarah Polley, Mary Harron, Noreen Halpern, executive producers (Netflix)

Big Mouth, Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Jennifer Flackett, Mark Levin, creators; Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin & Jennifer Flackett, executive producers (Netflix)

The End of the F***ing World, Andy Baker, Murray Ferguson, Petra Fried, Ed MacDonald, Dominic Buchanan, Jonathan Entwistle, executive producers (Netflix)

Killing Eve, Sally Woodward Gentle, Lee Morris, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, executive producers (BBC America)

Pose, Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Steven Canals, creators; Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, Alexis Martin Woodall, Sherry Marsh, executive producers (FX Networks)

Sharp Objects, Marti Noxon, creator; Marti Noxon, Jason Blum, Gillian Flynn, Amy Adams, Jean-Marc Vallée, Nathan Ross, Gregg Fienberg, Charles Layton, Marci Wiseman, Jessica Rhoades, executive producers (HBO)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form

195 Lewis, Chanelle Aponte Pearson and Rae Leone Allen, creators
Cleaner Daze, Tess Sweet and Daniel Gambelin, creators
Distance, Alex Dobrenko, creator
The F Word, Nicole Opper, creator
She’s the Ticket, Nadia Hallgren, creator

Twenty-seven writers, critics and programmers participated in the nomination process. The
Nominating Committees for the 2018 IFP Gotham Independent Film Awards were:

Nominating Committee for Best Feature, Best Screenplay, and Breakthrough Director:
Justin Chang, Film Critic, Los Angeles Times
Bilge Ebiri, Film Critic & Writer, New York Magazine/Vulture
Eric Kohn, Executive Editor & Chief Critic, IndieWire
Christy Lemire, Film Critic, RogerEbert.com; Co-host of What the Flick?! podcast
Alison Willmore, Critic & Culture Writer, BuzzFeed News

Nominating Committee for Best Documentary:
Tom Hall, Executive Director, Montclair Film
Rachel Rosen, Director of Programming, SFFILM
Sky Sitney, Co-creator & Co-director, Double Exposure Investigative Film Festival
Basil Tsiokos, Director of Programming: DOC NYC & Nantucket Film Festival, Documentary Programming Associate, Sundance Film Festival
David Wilson, Co-Conspirator, True/False Film Fest

Nominating Committee for Best Actor and Best Actress:
David Fear, Senior Editor/Critic, Rolling Stone
Mark Harris, Columnist, New York Magazine/Vulture
Ann Hornaday, Chief Film Critic, The Washington Post
Brian Tallerico, Editor, RogerEbert.com
Alissa Wilkinson, Film Critic, Vox

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Actor:
K. Austin Collins, Film Critic, Vanity Fair
David Ehrlich, Senior Film Critic, Indiewire
Jon Frosch, Reviews Editor, The Hollywood Reporter
Katie Walsh, Film Critic, Tribune Content Agency, Los Angeles Times
Emily Yoshida, Film Critic, New York Magazine/Vulture

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Series – Long Form:
Sophie Gilbert, Staff Writer, Culture, The Atlantic
Tim Goodman, Chief Television Critic, The Hollywood Reporter
Liz Shannon Miller, TV Editor, Indiewire
Sonia Saraiya, TV Critic, Vanity Fair
Alan Sepinwall, Chief TV Critic, Rolling Stone

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Series – Short Form:
Jude Dry, Staff Writer, IndieWire

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham