Go backBack to selection

2014 Cinema Eye Honors Nominees Announced

Edward Snowden, from CITIZENFOUR

The nominees have been announced for the eighth annual Cinema Eye Honors (of which Filmmaker is an industry sponsor), which recognize outstanding achievements in documentary filmmaking. A quick breakdown: CITIZENFOUR (the cover story subject of our latest issue) leads the pack with six nominations, closely followed by Life Itself and 20,000 Days on Earth with five apiece. Below, find the bulk of the nominations. For more information, visit the Cinema Eye Honors website, which also contains more trivia and facts about the nominees in each category. The Cinema Eye Honors winners will be announced on Wednesday, January 7 at New York’s Museum of the Moving Image.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking

20,000 Days on Earth

Directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard

Produced by Dan Bowen and James Wilson


Directed by Laura Poitras

Produced by Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky

Life Itself

Directed by Steve James

Produced by Zak Piper and Steve James

The Overnighters

Directed by Jesse Moss

Produced by Jesse Moss and Amanda McBaine


Directed by Orlando von Einsiedel

Produced by Joanna Natesegara and Orlando von Einsiedel

Outstanding Achievement in Direction

Robert Greene


Laura Poitras


Steve James

Life Itself

Jesse Moss

The Overnighters

Nick Broomfield

Tales of the Grim Sleeper

Outstanding Achievement in Editing

Robert Greene


Kate Amend

The Case Against 8

Mathilde Bonnefoy


Steve James and David E. Simpson

Life Itself

Sabine Lubbe Bakker and Niels van Koevorden

Ne Me Quitte Pas

Marshall Curry

Point and Shoot

Outstanding Achievement in Production

Ben Cotner and Ryan White

The Case Against 8

Laura Poitras, Mathilde Bonnefoy and Dirk Wilutzky


Katy Chevigny, Ross Kauffman and Marilyn Ness

The E-Team

Orwa Nyrabia and Hans Robert Eisenhauer

Return to Homs

Joanna Natesegara and Orlando von Einsiedel


Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography

Erik Wilson

20,000 Days on Earth

Laura Poitras, Kirsten Johnson, Katy Scoggin & Trevor Paglen


Ross Kauffman and Rachel Beth Anderson

The E-Team

Niels van Koevorden

Ne Me Quitte Pas

Andrew Droz Palermo

Rich Hill

Franklin Dow and Orlando von Einsiedel


Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film

20,000 Days on Earth

Directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard

Approaching the Elephant

Directed by Amanda Rose Wilder

Evolution of a Criminal

Directed by Darius Clark Monroe

Finding Vivian Maier

Directed by John Maloof and Charlie Siskel

Return to Homs

Directed by Talal Derki

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score

Nick Cave and Warren Ellis

20,000 Days on Earth

David Wingo

The Great Invisible

Joshua Abrams

Life Itself

David Perlick-Molinari


Edwyn Collins

The Possibilities Are Endless

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design or Animation

Kyle McKeveny and Matt St. Leger

Captivated: The Trials of Pamela Smart

Syd Garon

Jodorowsky’s Dune

MK12 – Nominees to be Determined

Particle Fever

Philippe Gariepy and Benoit St. Jean

Red Army

Steven Do

The Unknown Known

Spotlight Award


Directed by Johanna Hamilton

Evaporating Borders

Directed by Iva Radivojevic

An Honest Liar

Directed by Justin Weinstein and Tyler Measom

Living Stars

Directed by Gaston Duprat and Mariano Cohn

My Name is Salt

Directed by Farida Pacha

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking

Hacked Circuit

Directed by Deborah Stratman


Directed by Aneta Kopacz

The Lion’s Mouth Opens

Directed by Lucy Walker

Notes on Blindness

Directed by Peter Middleton and James Spinney

One Year Lease

Directed by Brian Bolster


© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham