Go backBack to selection

2015 Rotterdam International Film Festival Line-Up

Stinking Heaven

Falling smack dab in the middle of this year’s Sundance, the Rotterdam International Film Festival presents a hearty, intercontinental alternative to the Park City indie calendar starter. The program has trickled out over the last few weeks, and looks to be about buttoned up with the Spectrum and Bright Future sections announced today. Of note on the American end is the world premiere of Nathan Silver’s Stinking Heaven, which I covered on a set visit this summer, and the international premiere of Britni West’s Tired Moonlight, starring Alex Karpovsky. There’s also a generous helping of some of last year’s most notable festival circuit properties: From What Is Before, Jauja, Heaven Knows What, Approaching the Elephant, Horse Money, Natural History, The Iron Ministry and much more.

The Big Screen Award Nominees

I SWEAR I’LL LEAVE THIS TOWN, Danial Aragão (Brazil) – Bright Future
JAUJA, Lisandro Alonso (Argentina/USA/Netherlands/France/Mexico/Denmark/Germany/Brazil) – Spectrum
KEY HOUSE MIRROR, Michael Noer (Denmark) – Spectrum
THE LESSON, Kristina Grozeva, Petar Valchanov (Bosnia and Herzegovina/Bulgaria/Greece) – Bright Future
MAGICAL GIRL, Carlos Vermut (Spain) – Bright Future
A MATTER OF INTERPRETATION, Lee Kwang-Kuk (South Korea) – Bright Future
THE MOVE, Marat Sarulu (Kyrgyzstan) – Spectrum
SECOND COMING, Debbie Tucker Green (United Kingdom) – Bright Future
UNDULANT FEVER, Ando Hiroshi (Japan) – Spectrum
DAS ZIMMERMÄDCHEN LYNN, Ingo Haeb (Germany) – Spectrum

Hivos Tiger Awards line-up:

ABOVE AND BELOW, Nicolas Steiner (Switzerland/Germany) – International Premiere
ANOTHER TRIP TO THE MOON, Ismail Basbeth (Indonesia) – World Premiere
BRIDGEND, Jeppe Rønde (Denmark) – World Premiere
GLUCKAUF, Remy van Heugten (The Netherlands) – World Premiere
HARUKO’S PARANORMAL LABORATORY, Lisa Takeba (Japan) – World Premiere
IMPRESSIONS OF A DROWNED MAN, Kyros Papavassiliou (Cyprus/Greece/Slovenia) – World Premiere
LA MUJER DE LOS PERROS, Laura Citarella & Verónica Llinás (Argentina) – World Premiere
NORFOLK, Martin Radich (United Kingdom) – World Premiere
LA OBRA DEL SIGLO, Carlos Quintela (Cuba/Argentina/Germany/Switzerland) – World Premiere
PARABELLUM, Lukas Valenta Rinner (Argentina/Austria/Uruguay) – World Premiere
TIRED MOONLIGHT, Britni West (USA) – International Premiere
VANISHING POINT, Jakrawal Nilthamrong (Thailand) – World Premiere
VIDEOPHILIA (AND OTHER VIRAL SYNDROMES), Juan Daniel Fernández Molero (Peru) – World Premiere

Bright Future Premieres Line-up

Word Premieres

BATTLES by Isabelle Tollenaere (Belgium/The Netherlands)
COSMODRAMA by Philippe Fernandez (France)
CRUMBS by Miguel Llansó (Spain/Ethiopia/Finland)
EL LEGADO by Roberto Anjari-Rossi (Germany/Chile)
ERDOS RIDER by Wang Haolin (China)
HEARTS KNOW * THE RUNAWAY BRIDES by Kris Kristinsson (The Netherlands)
SOLOS by Joanna Lombardi (Peru)
THE BULL by Larissa Figueiredo (Brazil)
THE MAN IN THE WALL by Evgeny Ruman (Israel)
VALEDICTORIAN by Matthew Yeager (USA)
WHITE COAL by Georg Tiller (Austria)

International Premieres

A MATTER OF INTERPRETATION by Lee Kwang-Kuk (South Korea)
CALLING by Marcin Dudziak (Poland, France)
I SWEAR I’LL LEAVE THIS TOWN by Daniel Aragão (Brazil)
TRANSATLANTIQUE by Félix Dufour-Laperrière (Canada)

European Premieres

CHIGASAKI STORY by Misawa Takuya (Japan/Thailand)
FOREVER  by Margarita Manda (Greece)
GOD LOVES THE FIGHTER by Damian Marcano (Trinidad and Tobago)
SAM KLEMKE’S TIME MACHINE by Matthew Bate (Australia)
SET ME FREE by Kim Tae-Yong (South Korea)
SITI by Eddie Cahyono (Indonesia)
THE INSEMINATOR by Bui Kim Quy (Vietnam)
THINGS OF THE AIMLESS WANDERER by Kivu Ruhorahoza (Rwanda, United Kingdom)

Spectrum Premieres Line-up

Word Premieres

BLACK STONE by Roh Gyeong-Tae  (South Korea/France)
DESAPARADISO by Khavn (The Philippines)
JADE MINERS by Midi Z (Taiwan/ Myanmar)
LA LA LA AT ROCK BOTTOM by Yamashita Nobuhiro (Japan)
LA VIE DE JEAN-MARIE by Peter van Houten (The Netherlands)
LI WEN AT EAST LAKE  by Li Luo (China)
MIJN WITTE HEMD by Dré Didderiëns (The Netherlands)
STINKING HEAVEN by Nathan Silver (USA)
THE WOLF’S LAIR by Catarina Mourao (Portugal)

International Premieres

BRAVE MEN’S BLOOD by Olaf de Fleur Johannesson (Iceland)
KEY HOUSE MIRROR by Michael Noer (Denmark)
LA SCUOLA D’ESTATE by Jacopo Quadri (Italy)
LE PARADIS by Alain Cavalier (France)
THE END OF AN AGE by Bruno Safadi and Ricardo Pretti (Brazil)
UNDULANT FEVER by Ando Hiroshi (Japan)

European Premieres

CORNER OF HEAVEN by Miaoyan Zhang (China/France)
MIDSUMMER’S FANTASIA by Jang Kun-Jae (South Korea/Japan)
THE SECOND LIFE OF THIEVES by Woo Ming Jin (Malaysia)

Bright Future

ALIVE by Park Jung-Bum (South Korea)
BUZZARD by Joel Potrykus (USA)
CATCH ME DADDY by Daniel Wolfe (United Kingdom)
CINCO by Adrián Biniez (Argentina)
COURT by Chaitanya Tamhane (India)
FORT BUCHANAN by Benjamin Crotty (France/Tunisia)
JE SUIS LE PEUPLE by Anna Roussillon (France)
LA CREAZIONE DI SIGNIFICATO by Simone Rapisarda Casanova (Canada, Italy)
LA TIRISIA by Jorge Pérez Solano (Mexico)
LABOUR OF LOVE by Aditya Vikram Sengupta (India)
LIMBO by Anna Sofie Hartmann (Germany)
LOS HONGOS by Oscar Ruiz Navia (Colombia/Argentina/France/Germany)
MAGICAL GIRL by Carlos Vermut (Spain)
MAURO by Hernán Rosselli (Argentina)
MEN WHO SAVE THE WORLD by Liew Seng Tat (Malaysia/Netherlands/Germany/France)
NN by Héctor Gálvez Campos (Peru/Colombia/Germany/ France)
SECOND COMING by Debbie Tucker Green (United Kingdom)
SHE COMES BACK ON THURSDAY by André Novais Oliveira (Brazil)
THE LESSON By Kristina Grozeva and Petar Valchanov (Bosnia and Herzegovina/Bulgaria/Greece)
THE MONK by The Maw Naing (Myanmar/Czech Republic)
TITLI by Kanu Behl (India)
UN JEUNE POÈTE by Damien Manivel (France)
WIR SIND JUNG. WIR SIND STARK. by Burhan Qurbani (Germany)


AS THE GODS WILL by Miike Takashi (Japan)
AUGUST WINDS by Gabriel Mascaro (Brazil)
CAVALO DINHEIRO by Pedro Costa  (Portugal)
DIE GELIEBTEN SCHWESTERN by Dominik Graf (Germany)
FATHER AND SONS by Wang Bing (China/France)
FROM WHAT IS BEFORE by Lav Diaz (The Philippines)
GENTLE by Le-Van Kiet (Vietnam/USA)
HEAVEN KNOWS WHAT by Josh Safdie and Benny Safdie (USA/France)
JAUJA by Lisandro Alonso (Argentina/Denmark/USA,/Netherlands/France/Mexico/Germany/Brazil)
LETTERS TO MAX by Eric Baudelaire (France)
NATURAL HISTORY by James Benning (USA)
OVER YOUR DEAD BODY by Miike Takashi (Japan)
SPEED WALKING by Niels Arden Oplev (Denmark)
STORM CHILDREN – BOOK ONE by Lav Diaz (The Philippines)
STRANDED IN CANTON by Måns Månsson (Sweden/Denmark)
THE GOLDEN ERA by Ann Hui (China/Hong Kong)
THE IRON MINISTRY by J.P. Sniadecki (China/USA)
THE MOVE by Marat Sarulu (Kyrgyzstan)
THE REAPER by Zvonimir Juric (Croatia/Slovenia)
THE WORLD OF KANAKO by Nakashima Tetsuya (Japan)
TODAY by Reza Mirkarimi (Iran)
TOKYO TRIBE by Sono Sion (Japan)
TOTO AND HIS SISTERS by Alexander Nanau (Romania)

© 2023 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham