Go backBack to selection


The 63rd edition of the Cannes Film Festival wrapped up this evening in France with Apichatpong Weerasethakul‘s Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (pictured) taking the coveted Palme d’Or. Other winners include Xavier Beauvois‘s Of God and Men receiving the Grand Prix, Mathieu Amalric winning Best Director for Tournee, Juliette Binoche was awarded Best Actress for Certified Copy and in a tie Javier Bardem (Biutiful) and Elio Germano (La Nostra Vita) won Best Actor. See full list of winners below.

Palme d’Or:
Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives directed by Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Grand Prix (runner-up):
Des Hommes Et Des Dieux (Of God and Men), directed by Xavier Beauvois

Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director):
Mathieu Amalric for Tournee (On Tour)

Prix du Scenario (best screenplay):
Poetry by Lee Chang-dong

Prix du Jury (jury prize):
A Screaming Man, directed by Mahamat-Saleh Harou

Camera d’Or (best first feature):
Año Bisiesto, directed by Michael Rowe

Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor):
Javier Bardem for Biutiful
Elio Germano for La Nostra Vita

Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress):
Juliette Binoche for Certified Copy

Palme d’Or (short film):
Chienne d’Histoire, directed by Serge Avedikian

Other winners:

Prize of Un Certain Regard: Ha Ha Ha, directed by Hong Sangsoo
Jury Prize: Octubre, directed by Daniel Vega & Diego Vega
Special Prize: The three actresses—Adela Sanzhez, Eva Bianco, and Victoria Rapos—from Ivan Fund & Santiago Losa’s Los Labios (The Lips)

Art Cinema Award: Pieds nus sur les limaces, directed by Fabienne Berthaud (France)
Prix SACD/SACD Prize: Illégal, directed Olivier Masset-Depasse (Belgium – Luxembourg – France).
Label Europa Cinemas: Le Quattro Volte, directed by Michelangelo Frammartino (Italy)
PRIX SFR: Cautare, directed Ionut Piturescu (Romania) and Mary Last Seen, directed by Sean Durkin (USA)
Palm Dog Award: Vuk, the goatherd’s dog in Le Quattro Volte, directed by Michelangelo Frammartino

Grand Prix Semaine de la Critique: Armadillo, directed by Janus Metz
SACD Prize: Bi, dung so! (Bi, Don’t Be Afraid!), directed by Phan Dang Di
ACID/CCAS Support: Bi, dung so! (Bi, Don’t Be Afraid!), directed by Phan Dang Di
OFAJ (Very) Young Critic Award: Sound of Noise, directed by Ola Simonsson & Johannes Stjaerne Nilsson
Canal+ Award for Best Short Film: Berik, directed by Daniel Joseph Borgman
Kodak Discovery Award for Best Short Film: Deeper Than Yesterday, directed by Ariel Kleiman

Cannes Competition: Tournee, directed by Mathieu Amalric
Un Certain Regard: Pal Adrienn, directed by Agnes Kocsis
Director’s Fortnight/Critics’ Week: Todos vos sodes capitans, directed by Olivier Laxe

Kaboom, directed by Gregg Araki

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham