Go backBack to selection

The Miseducation of Cameron Post, Kailash Take the Top Awards at the 2018 Sundance Film Festival

The Miseducation of Cameron Post

The Miseducation of Cameron Post, Desiree Akhaven’s drama about teenage gay conversion therapy, and Kailash, Derek Doneen’s documentary about Nobel Prize winner Kailash Satyarthi took home the two top U.S. prizes, the U.S. Dramatic and U.S. Documentary Grand Jury Prizes, at tonight’s 2018 Sundance Film Festival closing night ceremonies. Nearly 30 awards were given out throughout the evening, prompting emcee Jason Mantzoukas, star of Hannah Fidell’s The Long Dumb Road, to chant, “10 more days, 10 more awards!” at the end of an evening that saw much diversity in the juror selections: Four out of the five top U.S. awards went to women or women-directed films, and all four directing awards went to female filmmakers.

The World Cinema Grand Jury Prize went to Butterflies, directed by Tolga Karaçelik, and the World Cinema Documentary Prize was awarded to Talal Derki’s Of Fathers and Sons.

Among other notable awards were a Special Jury Award for Acting given to first-time screen performer Benjamin Dickey for his lead role in Ethan Hawke’s Blaze; two awards — a NEXT Audience Award and the Alfred P. Sloane Prize — given to Aneesh Chaganti’s computer-screen thriller Search; and a NEXT Innovator Award, new this year (I believe) and selected by a single juror: RuPaul. (The famous performer chose well, splitting the award between Jordana Spiro’s Night Comes On and Jeremiah Zagar’s We the Animals.)

A complete list of the awards follows. Read all of Filmmaker‘s Sundance coverage here.

The Sundance 2018 Awards

U.S. Dramatic Grand Jury Prize: The Miseducation of Cameron Post, Desiree Akhaven.

U.S. Documentary Grand Jury Prize: Kailash, Derek Doneen.

U.S. Dramatic Directing Award, Sara Colangelo, The Kindergarten Teacher.

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Christina Choe, Nancy.

U.S. Documentary Directing Award: Alexandria Bombach, On Her Shoulders.

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Outstanding First Feature: Monsters and Men, Reinaldo Marcus Green.

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Excellence in Filmmaking: I Think We’re Alone Now, Reed Morano.

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Award for Acting: Benjamin Dickey, Blaze.

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Social Impact Award: Crime + Punishment, Steven Maing.

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Creative Vision: Hale Country This Morning, This Evening, RaMell Ross.

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Breakthrough Filmmaking: Minding the Gap, Bing Liu.

U.S. Documentary Special Jury Award for Storytelling: Three Identical Strangers, Tim Wardell.

U.S. Documentary Audience Award: The Sentence, Rudy Velez.

U.S. Dramatic Audience Award: Burden, Andrew Heckler.

World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award: The Guilty, Gustav Moller.

World Cinema Documentary Audience Award: This is Home, Alexandra Shiva

World Cinema Dramatic Grand Jury Prize: Butterflies, Tolga Karaçelik

World Cinema Directing Award: Isold Uggadottir, And Breathe Normally.

World Cinema Acting Award: Valeria Bertucelli, Queen of Fear

World Cinema Special Jury Award for Screenwriting: Time Share, Julia Chavezmontes and Sebastian Hofmann

World Cinema Special Jury Award for Ensemble Acting: Dead Pigs.

World Cinema Documentary Grand Jury Prize: Of Fathers and Sons, Talal Derki.

World Cinema Documentary Directing Award: Sandi Tan, Shirkers.

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Award: Matangi/Maya/MIA, Steven Loveridge.

World Cinema Documentary Cinematography AwardP Genesis 2.0

World Cinema Documentary Award for Editing: Our New President, Maxim Pozdorovkin and Matvey Kulakov

NEXT Innovator Award (chosen by a single juror, RuPaul), a tie: Night Comes On, Jordana Spiro; We the Animals, Jeremiah Zagar

NEXT Audience Award: Search: Aneesh Chaganti.

U.S. Dramatic Special Jury Prize: Alfred P. Sloan Prize: Search, Aneesh Chaganti.

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham