Go backBack to selection

Minding the Gap Leads This Year’s Cinema Eye Honors Nominees

Minding the Gap

The non-fiction-centric awards body Cinema Eye Honors announced its nominees for 2018, ranging over 10 categories, such as directing, production, cinematography and, of course, Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking. Among the biggest recipients is Bing Liu’s Minding the Gap, which raked up a total of seven nominations — the most of any title this year. Others with multiple nominees include Robert Greene’s Bisbee ’17, RaMell Ross’ Hale County This Morning, This Evening and Sandi Tan’s Shirkers.

The winners will be announced at the 2019 Honors Awards Ceremony on January 10, 2019, which will be held at the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens, New York. The host, as in the last three years, will be award-winning filmmaker Steve James, most recently seen with the Starz doc series America to Me.

2018 has been an unusually strong year for non-fiction films at the box office, with three films crossing the $10 million mark domestically (so far), including Won’t You Be My Neighbor?, RBG and Three Identical Strangers.

The full list of nominees can be found below:

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking

Bisbee ’17
Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Minding the Gap
Of Fathers and Sons
Three Identical Strangers
Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Outstanding Achievement in Direction

Robert Greene, B​isbee ’17
RaMell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Bing Liu, Minding the Gap
Talal Derki, Of Fathers and Sons
Sandi Tan, Shirkers

Outstanding Achievement in ​Production

Susan Bedusa, Bennett Elliot, and Douglas Tirola, B​isbee ’17
Stephen Maing, Ross Tuttle, and Eric Daniel Metzgar, C​rime + Punishment
Josh Lowell, Phillip Manderla, and Peter Mortimer, The Dawn Wall
Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, Evan Hayes, and Shannon Dill, ​Free Solo
Ansgar Frerich, Eva Kemme, Tobias N. Siebert, and Hans Robert Eisenhauer, Of Fathers and Sons
Daniel McCabe, Geoff McLean, and Alyse Ardell Spiegel, ​This is Congo

Outstanding Achievement in ​Editing

RaMell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Julien Faraut, John McEnroe: In the Realm of Perfection
Joshua Altman and Bing Liu, Minding the Gap
Michael Harte, Three Identical Strangers
Jeff Malmberg and Aaron Wickenden, Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Outstanding Achievement in ​Cinematography

Jarred Alterman, ​Bisbee ’17
Shevaun Mizrahi, D​istant Constellation
Jimmy Chin, Clair Popkin, and Mikey Schaeffer, Free Solo
RaMell Ross, Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Emmanuel Gras, Makala
Bing Liu, Minding the Gap

Outstanding Achievement in ​Original Music Score

Keegan DeWitt, Bisbee ’17
Travis Wilkerson, Did You Wonder Who Fired the Gun?
Marco Beltrami, Free Solo
Nathan Halpern and Chris Ruggiero, Minding the Gap
Ishai Adar, Shirkers
Dan Deacon, Time Trial

Outstanding Achievement in ​Graphic Design or Animation

Syd Garon, Anton Goddard, and Chris Kirk, Bathtubs Over Broadway
Toby Cornish, Beuys
Patrick Mate, Harold and Lillian: A Hollywood Love Story
Shofela Coker, Liyana
Lucas Cellar and Sandi Tan, Shirkers
Ariel Costa and Rodrigo Miguel Rangel, Won’t You Be My Neighbor?

Outstanding Achievement in a ​Debut Feature Film

América​, Directed by Chase Whiteside and Erick Stoll
Distant Constellation​, Directed by Shevaun Mizrahi
Hale County This Morning, This Evening​, Directed by RaMell Ross
Minding the Gap​, Directed by Bing Liu
Shirkers, Directed by Sandi Tan

Outstanding Achievement in ​Nonfiction Short Filmmaking

Baby Brother, Directed by Kamau Bilal
Concussion Protocol​, Directed by Josh Begley
My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes​, Directed by Charlie Tyrell
Skip Day​, Directed by Patrick Bresnan and Ivete Lucas
Volte, Directed by Monika Kolecka and Karolina Poryzala

Spotlight Award

The Distant Barking of Dogs​, Directed by Simon Lereng
Wilmont Island of Hungry Ghosts​, Directed by Gabrielle Brady
The Other Side of Everything​, Directed by Mila Turajlic
Roll Red Roll, Directed by Nancy Schwartzman
The Silence of Others, Directed by Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar
A Woman Captured​, Directed by Bernadett Tuza-Ritter

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham