Go backBack to selection


The Film Independent Spirit Awards just wrapped (see it on IFC tonight @ 10ET) and Darren Aronofsky‘s thriller Black Swan was the big winner taking home four awards, including Best Feature, Best Director for Aronofsky and Best Female Lead for Natalie Portman. Winter’s Bone won the supporting acting prizes with John Hawkes taking it for actor and Dale Dickey for actress while James Franco won Best Male Lead for 127 Hours, Banksy‘s Exit through the Gift Shop won Best Documentary and Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg won Best Screenplay for The Kids Are All Right.

Also, “25 New Face” alum Lena Dunham won the Best First Screenplay prize for Tiny Furniture and Mike Ott, who we awarded with our “Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You” award at this year’s Gotham Awards for his latest Littlerock, won the Someone to Watch award.

Read the full list of winners below.

Best Feature

Black Swan

Best Director

Darren Aronofsky, Black Swan

Best Female Lead

Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Male Lead

James Franco, 127 Hours

Best Supporting Female

Dale Dickey, Winter’s Bone

Best Supporting Male

John Hawkes, Winter’s Bone

Best Screenplay

Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg, The Kids Are All Right

Best First Feature

Get Low

John Cassavetes Award

Daddy Longlegs

Best First Screenplay

Lena Dunham, Tiny Furniture

Best Documentary

Exit Through The Gift Shop

Best Foreign Film

The King’s Speech

Best Cinematography

Matthew Libatique, Black Swan

Truer Than Fiction Award


Someone to Watch Award

Mike Ott, director of Littlerock

Producers Award

Anish Savjani, producer of Meek’s Cutoff

Robert Altman Award

Please Give — Nicole Holofcener (writer-director), Jeanne McCarthy (casting director) and actors Ann Gilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet, Oliver Platt, Lois Smith and Sarah Steele

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham