Go backBack to selection


IFP’s 20th Gotham Independent Film Awards took place last night in Lower Manhattan with Debra Granik‘s Winter’s Bone winning Best Feature as well as Best Ensemble and Laura PoitrasThe Oath taking Best Documentary.

Other winners on the night include Waiting for “Superman” winning the first ever Festival Genius Audience Award and Littlerock took home the Best Film Not Playing At a Theater Near You Award (chosen by the editors of Filmmaker).

The show,  co-hosted by Stanley Tucci and Patricia Clarkson, was also filled with memories from Gothams past, including a beautiful montage to start the night. Tributes this year included Focus Features CEO James Schamus, who also being a professor, brought out a whiteboard to use during his acceptance speech, Hilary Swank, Darren Aronofsky and Robert Duvall, who gave many memories of making independent films between Hollywood projects throughout his career. One of the major highlights of the night was Duvall’s Get Low co-star Bill Murray introducing him by saying “I know he’s a big deal because he’s Boo Radley,” and calling him the greatest actor he’s ever worked with.

Full list of Gotham Awards winners are below.

Best Feature: Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions)

Best Documentary: The Oath (Zeitgeist Films)

Breakthrough Director: Kevin Asch, Holly Rollers (First Independent Pictures)

Breakthrough Actor: Ronald Bronstein, Daddy Longlegs (IFC Films)

Best Ensemble Performance: Jennifer Lawrence, John Hawkes, Dale Dickey, Lauren Sweetser, Garret Dillahunt, Devin Breznahan in Winter’s Bone (Roadside Attractions)

Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You: Littlerock, director Mike Ott

Festival Genius Audience Award: Waiting for “Superman” (Paramount Vantage)

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham