Go backBack to selection


in Filmmaking
on Feb 25, 2007

The Film Independent Spirit Awards were handed out yesterday in Santa Monica, California. Here are the winners.

Best Feature: Little Miss Sunshine, Producers: Marc Turtletaub, David T. Friendly, Peter Saraf, Albert Berger & Ron Yerxa

Best Director: Jonathon Dayton & Valerie Faris, Little Miss Sunshine

Best Screenplay: Jason Reitman, Thank You For Smoking

Best First Feature: Sweet Land. Director: Ali Selim. Producers: Alan Cumming, James Bigham, Ali Selim

Best First Screenplay: Michael Arndt, Little Miss Sunshine

John Cassavetes Award (For the Best Feature made for under $500,000):Quinceañera. Writer/Directors: Richard Glatzer & Wash Westmoreland. Producer: Anne Clements

Best Supporting Female: Frances McDormand, Friends with Money

Best Supporting Male: Alan Arkin, Little Miss Sunshine

Best Female Lead: Shareeka Epps, Half Nelson

Best Male Lead: Ryan Gosling, Half Nelson

Best Cinematography: Guillermo Navarro, Pan’s Labyrinth

Best Foreign Film: The Lives of Others. Director: Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck

Best Documentary The Road to Guantanamo. Directors: Michael Winterbottom and Mat Whitecross

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham