Go backBack to selection


in Filmmaking
on May 4, 2007

Awards were handed out last night in Chinatown for the 6th annual Tribeca Film Festival. See list of winners below.

The Founders Award for Best Narrative FeatureMy Father My Lord (Hofshat Kaits), directed by David Volach (Israel).

Best New Narrative FilmmakerTwo Embraces (Dos Abrazos), directed by Enrique Begne (Mexico).

Best Actor in a Narrative Feature FilmLofti Edbelli in Making Of (Akher film), directed by Nouri Bouzid (Tunisia, Morocco).

Best Actress in a Narrative Feature FilmMarina Hands in Lady
, directed by Pascale Ferran (France, Belgium).

Best ScreenplayMaking Of (Akher film), written and directed by Nouri Bouzid (Tunisia, Morocco).

Honorable Mentions: Lost in Beijing (Ping Guo), screenwriters Li Yu & Fang Li, directed by Li Yu (China). Half Moon (Niwemang), writer-director Bahman Ghobadi (Iran, Iraq, Austria, France).

Best Documentary FeatureTaxi to the Darkside, directed by Alex Gibney (U.S.A.).

Best New Documentary FilmmakerA Story of People in War & Peace,
directed by Vardan Hovhannisyan (Armenia).

Special Jury Mention – Documentary – We Are Together (Thina Simunye), directed by Paul Taylor (U.K.).

“NY Loves Film” – Documentary – A Walk into the Sea: Danny Williams and The Warhol Factory, directed by Esther Robinson (U.S.A.).

“Made In NY” – Narrative – The Education of Charlie Banks, directed by
Fred Durst (U.S.A.).

“Made In NY” Special Jury Recognition – Narrative – The Killing of John
, directed by Andrew Piddington (U.K.).

Best Narrative ShortThe Last Dog in Rwanda (Den sista hunden i Rwanda), directed by Jens Assur (Sweden).

Special Jury Prize for Best Narrative ShortSuper Powers, directed by J. Anderson Mitchell & Jeremy Kipp Walker (U.S.A.).

Best Documentary ShortA Son’s Sacrifice, directed by Yoni Brook (U.S.A.).

Student Visionary AwardGood Luck Nedim (Sretan Put Nedime), directed by Marko Santic (Slovenia).

Student Visionary AwardSomeone Else’s War, directed by Lee Wang (U.S.A./Philippines).

Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award – Documentary – Dee Rees for her documentary work-in-progress, Eventual Salvation, which follows an 80-year-old grandmother who returns to Liberia to rebuild her life and community after years of civil war.

Honorable MentionUltimate Christian Wrestling by Jae-Ho Chang and Tara Autovino.

Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award – Narrative – Ben Rekhi for his current screenplay, Waste, co-written by John Campo, which tells the story of a widowed NYC sanitation worker who must negotiate his relationship with his son after he becomes a key figure in a labor dispute.

Tribeca All Access Creative Promise Award – Screenwriting – Marilyn Fu for her screenplay, The Sisterhood of Night, an adaptation of the short story by Pulitzer Prize winner Steven Millhauser. Caryn Waechter is attached to direct.

Honorable MentionLast Road Home by Roberto Marinas.

© 2024 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham