Go backBack to selection


in Filmmaking
on Oct 9, 2008

Congrats to two of Filmmaker‘s 2008 25 New Faces, John Magary and Dee Rees, for being selected as Sundance Institute 2008 Time Warner Storytelling Fellows. Congrats also to the third winner, playwright Kirsten Greenidge.

From the press release:

Sundance Institute and Time Warner Inc. (NYSE: TWX) announced today the selection of playwright Kirsten Greenidge and filmmakers John Magary and Dees Rees as the 2008 Time Warner Storytelling Fellows. Greenidge (with her project BOSSA NOVA) participated in the 2008 Sundance Theatre Lab. Magary (with his project BLOOD ABUNDANCE, OR THE HALF-LIFE OF ANTOINETTE) and Rees (with her project PARIAH) participated in the 2008 Sundance Directors Lab.

The Time Warner Storytelling Advancement Fund, established in 2007, provides substantial support over four years to help fund the development and celebration of independent artists across the Sundance Institute’s Feature Film and Theatre Programs. Time Warner Storytelling Fellows, a talented group of Sundance film and theatre artists (up to 20 Fellows over a four-year period), receive grants to enable them to focus specifically on the advancement of the narrative and voice in their projects. Additionally, the Fellows receive a combination of year-round guidance, residency support, mentoring, work presentation and professional development.

© 2023 Filmmaker Magazine. All Rights Reserved. A Publication of The Gotham